

SCA LEGENDS OF CURLING HONOUR ROLL INAUGURAL INDUCTIONS RECEPTION



A Legacy of the SCA 100th Anniversary NUTANA CURLING CLUB – SASKATOON, SK – MAY 15, 2004

MEDIA INFORMATION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

2004 marks the 100th year of the Saskatchewan Curling Association and organized curling in Saskatchewan. The Anniversary planning committees wanted to find ways to celebrate this milestone in Curling history, as well as honour and preserve the memory of the many great players and supporters of the game and thus, the **SCA Legends of Curling, A Legacy of the SCA 100th Anniversary,** was born.

This inaugural year of the SCA Legends of Curling will see all the Saskatchewan curling teams that have won a National title as inductees. Saskatchewan Curling teams have won a total of 61 national titles and some of these teams have duplicated their national wins. The Inaugural Induction reception will see 52 teams being recognized for their accomplishments on the ice. Details for the reception are as follows:

May 15, 2004 – 1:00 pm

Nutana Curling Club – 2002 Arlington Ave. Saskatoon

BBQ to Follow at 5:00 pm

BBQ tickets (\$5.00) Available at the Door

Open to the Public

Casual Dress

Tom Naylen, SCA Past President and Chairman of the Legends Committee indicates that there has been outstanding response from the 52 teams being honoured, and is confident that the afternoon will be memorable, not only for the inductees, but also for the autograph seeking curling fan! **Kevin Waugh**, Saskatoon radio personality, is Master of Ceremonies for the presentations program and **Sylvia Fedoruk** and **Rick Folk** will have closing remarks on behalf of the inductees. Team categories include Mens, Womens, Juniors, Seniors and Mixed National championship teams.

In the years to come, it is the intention of the SCA Legends Honour Roll to honour the talents and dedication of Saskatchewan curling athletes, builders of the game as well as outstanding supporters and local legends. Following the announcement of the SCA Legends in April of 2003, many interested parties and curling clubs submitted names for consideration and these individuals are still eligible for recognition. Following this inaugural year, the Legends committee plans to develop guidelines that will form the foundation for future inductions while also accepting new nominations. All aspects of the great game and "Official Sport of Saskatchewan" will be eligible for recognition.

Further information, on the Honour Roll process, may be found in the SCA Annual yearbook available at affiliated curling clubs. A web site is also currently under development.

2004 Inductees:

MENS TEAMS

1955 Macdonald Brier Canadian Mens ChampionsGarnet Campbell Don Campbell Glenn Campbell Lloyd Campbell

1959, 60 & 62 Macdonald Brier Canadian Mens Champions Ernie Richardson Arnold Richardson Garnet (Sam) Richardson Wes Richardson

1963 Macdonald Brier Canadian Mens ChampionsErnie Richardson Arnold Richardson Garnet (Sam) Richardson Mel Perry

1973 Macdonald Brier Canadian Mens Champions
Harvey Mazinke Billy Martin George Achtymichuk Dan
Klippenstein

1980 Labatt Brier Canadian Mens Champions Rick Folk Ron Mills Tom Wilson Jim Wilson

WOMENS TEAMS

1953 Western Canadian Women Champions
Janet Perkin Phyllis Day Jean Graham Joyce Miller
1960 Western Canadian & East/West Challenge Womens
Champions

Joyce McKee Sylvia Fedoruk Donna Paton Muriel Coben
1961 Canadian Diamond "D" Womens Champions
Joyce McKee Sylvia Fedoruk Barbara MacNevin Rosa McFee
1969 Canadian Ladies' Curling Association Champions
Joyce McKee Vera Pezer Lee Morrison Jennifer Falk
1970 Canadian Ladies' Curling Association Champions
Dorenda Schoenhals Cheryl Stirton Linda Burnham Joan
Anderson

1971 CLCA & 1972 & 1973 Macdonald Lassie Womens Champions

Vera Pezer Sheila Rowan Joyce McKee Lee Morrison 1974 Macdonald Lassie Womens Champions

Emily Farnham Linda Saunders Pat McBeath Donna Collins 1980 Canadian Ladies' Curling Association Champions Marj Mitchell Nancy Kerr Shirley McKendry Wendy Leach 1993, 94 & 97 Scott Tournament of Hearts Champions Sandra Schmirler Jan Betker Joan McCusker Marcia Gudereit

SENIOR MENS TEAMS

1968 Canadian Senior Mens Champions Don Wilson Carson Tufts Ivan McMillan Reuben Lowe 1977 Canadian Senior Mens Champions Morrie Thompson Bert Harbottle Archie Bartley Mac MacKee 1978 Canadian Senior Mens Champions Art Knutson Ernie Vaughn Gay Knutson Elmer Knutson 1980 Canadian Senior Mens Champions Terry McGeary Don Berglind Hillis Thompson Claire Ramsay 1985 Canadian Senior Mens Champions Frank Scheirich Joe Golumbia Wally Yuzdepski Alex Wasslen

1998 Canadian CIBC Senior Mens Champions Gary Bryden Dale Graham Wilf Foss Gerry Zimmer

SENIOR WOMENS TEAMS

1984, 85 & 86 Canadian Senior Womens Champions Evelyn Krahn Twyla Widdifield Shirley Little June Kaufman 1989 Canadian Senior Womens Champions Emily Farnham Mary Todarchuk Emily Heidt Arlie Ellsworth 1992 Canadian Senior Womens Champions Sheila Rowan Donna Trapp Doreen Thomas Joyce McKee 2003 Canadian Senior Womens Champions Nancy Kerr Linda Burnham Kenda Richards Gertie Pick

JUNIOR MENS/SCHOOL BOY TEAMS 1950 Victor Sifton Trophy Schoolboy Champions Bill Clarke Gary Carlson Ian Innes Harold Grassie 1951 Victor Sifton Trophy Schoolboy Champions Gary Thode Gary Cooper Orest Hryniuk Roy Hufsmith 1952 Victor Sifton Trophy Schoolboy Champions Gary Thode Gary Cooper Doug Conn Roy Hufsmith 1954 Victor Sifton Trophy Schoolboy Champions Bayne Secord Don Snyder Stan Austman Don Brownell 1955 Victor Sifton Trophy Schoolboy Champions Bayne Secord Stan Austman Merv Mann Gary Stevenson

1956 Victor Sifton Trophy Schoolboy Champions Bob Hawkins Ted Clark Bruce Beveridge Dave Williams 1962 Pepsi Schoolboy Champions Mike Lukowich Ed Lukowich Doug McLeod David Moore 1965 Pepsi Schoolboy Champions

For further information contact:

SASKATCHEWAN CURLING ASSOCIATION 1-877-722-2875

Tom Naylen, Chairman **SCA Legends of Curling Honour Roll Committee** (204) 748-6151

Dan Fink Ken Runtz Ron Jacques Larry Lechner 1969 Pepsi Schoolboy Champions Bob Miller Roger Rask Lloyd Helm William Aug 1971 Pepsi Schoolboy Champions Greg Montgomery Don Despins Jeff Montgomery Rod Verboom

1983 Pepsi Junior Mens Champions Jamie Schneider Danny Ferner Steven Leippi Kelly Vollman 2003 Karcher Junior Mens Champions Steven Laycock Chris Haichert Mike Jantzen Kyler Broad

JUNIOR WOMEN/SCHOOL GIRLS TEAMS 1973 Canadian Junior Womens Champions Janet Crimp Carol Davis Chris Gervais Susan Carney 1975 Canadian Junior Womens Champions Patricia Crimp Colleen Rudd Judy Sefton Merril Greabel 1976 Canadian Junior Womens Champions Colleen Rudd Carol Rudd Julie Burke Lori Glenn 1979 Canadian Junior Womens Champions Denise Wilson Judy Walker Dianne Choquette Shannon Olafson 1985 Pepsi Junior Womens Champions Kim Armbruster Sheila Calcutt Wanda Figitt Lorraine Krupski 1990 Pepsi Junior Womens Champions Atina Ford Darlene Kidd Leslie Beck Cindy Ford 1992 Pepsi Junior Womens Champions Amber Holland Cindy Street Tracy Beach Angela Street 2000 Karcher Junior Womens Champions Stefanie Miller Marliese Miller Stacy Helm Amanda MacDonald

2003 Karcher Junior Womens Champions Marliese Miller Teejay Surik Janelle Lemon Chelsey Bell

MIXED TEAMS

1967 & 68 O'Keefe Canadian Mixed Champions Larry McGrath Darlene Hill John Gunn Marlene Dorsett 1971 O'Keefe Canadian Mixed Champions Larry McGrath Darlene Hill John Gunn Audrey St. John 1974 Seagram Canadian Mixed Champions Rick Folk Cheryl Stirton Tom Wilson Bonnie Orchard 1978 Seagram Canadian Mixed Champions Bernie Yuzdepski Marnie McNiven Roy Uchman Joan Bjerke 1983 Seagram Canadian Mixed Champions Rick Folk Dorenda Schoenhals Tom Wilson Elizabeth Folk 1984 CCA/CLCA Canadian Mixed Champions Randy Woytowich Kathy Fahlman Brian McCusker Jan Betker 1996 Unitel Canadian Mixed Champions Randy Bryden Cathy Trowell Russ Bryden Karen Inglis

